| Tue, 18 Jun 2024

Market Surveillance Committee

Market Governance
Market Surveillance Committee

The Market Surveillance Committee (MSC) is tasked primarily to monitor and assess the trading activities of WESM participants to ensure efficiency and fair competition in the market. The MSC is also tasked to prepare periodic reports which outline the activities of WESM participants in the spot market or such other matters concerning the operation of the spot market. The MSC is directly involved in developing and governing the Philippine electricity market. The Committee performs its functions in accordance with the WESM Market Surveillance, Enforcement and Compliance Market Manual and other relevant manuals.

The MSC shall have five (5) expert members in engineering, law and economics being independent from the Philippine electric power industry and the Government.

Members of the Market Surveillance Committee:

Atty. Doroteo B. Aguila (Chairman)
A.B. Economics, UP School of Economics (1977)
Bachelor of Laws (Juris Doctor), UP College of Law (1982)
Admitted to Philippine Bar (1983)
Management Development Program, Asian Institute of Management (1999)
National Secretary (2021 to present) and Governor (2019 to 2021), Integrated Bar of the Philippines
Member, Board of Trustees, Philippine International Center for Conflict Resolution (2019-2021)

Engr. Arthur N. Escalante
B.S. Electrical Engineering
M.S. Electrical Engineering
Formerly affiliated with Private Distribution Utility

Engr. Christian M. Orias, Ph.D.
B.S. Electrical Engineering
M.S. Management Engineering
Ph.D. Industrial Engineering
Adjunct Faculty Member, Asian Institute of Management

Engr. Ferdinand P. Villareal
B.S. Electrical Engineering
M.S. Management
Former Director, Engineering Department, National Electrification Administration

Justin Ranier S. Chan, Ph.D.
B.S. Business Economics
M.A. Economics
Ph.D. Economics
Faculty, University of the Philippines School of Economics